Genetic Improvement Committee
This committee helps to influence the genetic improvement of the Jersey breed in Canada. This includes working with Dairy Herd Improvement personnel, staff at the Canadian Dairy Network, and classification personnel at Holstein Canada to ensure that animals are being evaluated accurately. As well, the Genetic Improvement Committee works with partners in the AI industry to promote the use of young sires, identify genetic needs of the Jersey breed, and identify current genetics that should be emphasized in the future.
Chair – Patrick MacDougall (Reyla)
Gary Bowers (Lencrest)
Joanne Edwards (Bramville)
Callum McKinven (Lookout)
Richard Osborne (Willow Creek)
Brian Raymer (Brilin)
Tim Sargent (Enniskillen)
John Eric Somerville (Clearwater)
John Vander Wielen (Grayclay)

Show Committee
This committee oversees issues related to Jersey shows in Canada, including judge accreditation, the All Canadian Contest, show ethics, and show regulations.
Chair – Joanne Edwards (Bramville)
Guillaume Dumais (Bellaska) 
Remi Guay (Hillover)
Sylvain Houle (Yamach)
Bobby Jarrell (RJF)
Jon Kingdon (Charlyn)
Oliver Marquis (Du sillon)
Kirsty McAvoy (Starrcest)
Tim Sargent (Enniskillen)

RAWF Dairy Committee Representatives
Jon Kingdon (Charlyn)
Tim Sargent (Enniskillen)
Jennifer Vander Meulen (Avonlea)
Kathryn Kyle 

Marketing & Publications Committee
The main purpose of the Marketing & Publications Committee is to promote the Jersey breed through various projects in both domestic and international markets. Specific responsibilities include helping provincial/regional associations with marketing needs, developing marketing materials for Jersey Canada, and generally trying to increase the profile of the Jersey breed. This committee oversees all print and digital publications of Jersey Canada, including The Canadian Jersey Breeder and website.
Chair – John Vander Wielen (Grayclay)
Mark Anderson (Co Co Creek)
Joshawa Barter (Steeshanie)
Frances Freeze (Mayflower)
Rhonda Hulan (Jayron)
Karen Kingdon (Charlyn)
Dave Morey (Unique)
Jean Marc Pellerin (Resource)
George Van Kampen (Geordawn) 

Youth Committee
Selects recipients for youth oriented programs including: Youth Scholarships, Youth of Distinction Award, the Royal Jersey Ambassador program, Next Generation Travel Bursaries, and Youth Fund support available to regional associations.  
Chair – Joshawa Barter (Steeshanie)
Meaghan Brosen (Brosendale)
Kevin Elshof (Therihof)
Frances Freeze (Mayflower)
Casey Morey (Unique)
Andrea Nixon (Rosalea)
Stephynie Sargent (Enniskillen)
Sean Smith (Clanman)

Operations Committee (Executive)
Chair - Tim Sargent (Enniskillen)
Patrick MacDougall (Reyla)
David Morey (Unique)
Brian Raymer (Brilin)

Disciplinary Committee
Adrian Haeni (Lone Pine)
Robert Jarrell (RJF)
Mathieu Larose (Vermalar)

Staff Liaisons
Tim Sargent (Enniskillen)
John Vander Wielen (Grayclay) 

Volunteer for a Jersey Canada Committee!

Our Jersey Canada board of directors and committee volunteers are leaders that share your passion. They have an extraordinary opportunity to make a difference and support the Jersey breed and its future.

Committee Structure
Each committee is chaired by a representative from the board, and comprised of volunteer members. Jersey Canada staff serve as secretary, and assist with agendas, minutes, and carrying out action items. 

The Process
The Operations Committee appoints individuals who have volunteered to each of the committees in March at the time of the Annual General Meeting. The committee rosters are then presented at the Incoming Board Meeting for approval and successful nominees receive a letter of appointment.

The Commitment
Committee members typically attend two meetings a year, either in person or by teleconference. Each committee is a little different and involvement may include: discussions, information gathering, idea generation, coordination of a program, and/or participation at an event. 

In an effort to respect the time and energy of committee members, individuals can serve on a committee up to six consecutive years. Following the sixth year, a two-year sabbatical is mandatory before being able to join another Jersey Canada committee. 

If you would like more information, or to volunteer for a committee, contact Kathryn (519-821-1020 – ext. 23) or any member of the Operations Committee listed above.

< ? mysql_close(); ?>